Erland Lee Award

This prestigious award is presented annually by the Federated Women’s Institutes of Canada to a man who most exemplifies those qualities of Erland Lee which led to the founding of the Women’s Institute, an organization which spread across Canada and grew to include millions of women worldwide.


A certificate to be presented to a gentleman who has made an outstanding contribution to the Women’s Institute movement. Nominations can come from the branch, district/county, provincial or national level. Each province is entitled to one nomination per year, except for Ontario, which is entitled to two because of the size of its membership. Specifics of the nominee’s contribution to Women’s Institutes must be included with the nomination letter and forwarded to the provincial office for approval.

Once approved by the provincial office, the gentleman’s name to be sent to national office. It must be received no later than March 31 of each year. A cheque for $15.00 per certificate, payable to “Federated Women’s Institutes of Canada”, must accompany the nomination. This cost is the responsibility of the nominating body. A certificate will be forwarded to the province from national office, along with a brief resumé of the significant contributions of Erland Lee in forming Women’s Institutes in Canada.

Presentation of certificates is the responsibilities of the nominator.

2019 Erland Lee Award

Receiving nominations for the 2019 award.

2018 Erland Lee Award

Congratulations to Fred Hyde and Bruce Zavitz, the 2018 Ontario recipients of the Erland Lee Award of Appreciation.

Fred Hyde was nominated by the Navan WI (Russell District, Eastern Area) and Bruce Zavitz was nominated by the Brant District WI (Hamilton Area).